Pride Spiritual Cancer

There is an uncle who I see every week. He took me aside one day and said, “boy do you know those men from America who were working in Temple View?”

I said yes uncle.

I spent a  lot of time with them a few years ago. They called me every week, took me to dinner and to many meetings. I thought they were my friends. But I have not even had a phone call from them in the past few years. Did they use me?

I replied, yes uncle they did use you.  They used their authority and their position to manipulate and trick you in  to thinking they were your friends and that you were doing Gods will.

Now this uncle is going through some very difficult trials. And those spiritual  colonizers , pretenders and manipulators are nowhere to be found. They use people then cast them to the side when the deed is done.

They are huddled in their opaque  bubble of self righteous and delusional prosperity. Thinking that God approves of their imprecise yet accurate evil deeds, because they have a brand new Toyota in the driveway and the newest flat screen tv. They are inflicted with very same spiritual cancer that inflicted the Pharisees.

In his book, Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis called pride “the great sin.” He then went on to say this; “According to Christian teachers, the essential vice, the utmost evil, is Pride. Unchastity, anger, greed, drunkenness, and all that, are mere flea bites in comparison: it was through Pride that the devil became the devil: Pride leads to every other vice: it is the complete anti-God state of mind.” He continues on by saying “it is Pride which has been the chief cause of misery in every nation and every family since the world began.”

8-15-10-am-diagnosing-spiritual-cancer

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

